FIFA's World Player Of The Year Shortlist

Four days after announcing the names of the
candidates for the FIFA Women’s World Player
of the Year and the FIFA World Coach of the
Year for Women’s Football for 2013 awards,
FIFA and France Football have today revealed
the names for the men’s awards.
The candidates for the FIFA Ballon d’Or and
for the FIFA World Coach of the Year for
Men’s Football awards have been unveiled
(see below). The final decisions will be
made by the captains and head coaches of
the men’s national teams as well as by
international media representatives
selected by France Football .
The winners of all of the awards will be
revealed at the FIFA Ballon d’Or as part of a
televised show at the Zurich Kongresshaus on
13 January 2014, during which the FIFA FIFPro
World XI, the FIFA Puskás Award – for the
most beautiful goal of the year – the FIFA
Presidential Award and the FIFA Fair Play
Award will also be presented.
The list of 23 male candidates has been
drawn up by football experts from the FIFA
Football Committee and by a group of
experts from France Football . The list of ten
coaches has been drawn up by the Committee
for Women’s Football and FIFA Women’s World
Cup and by the FIFA Football Committee, as
well as by a group of experts from France
In early December 2013, FIFA and France
Football will announce the names of the three
men and three women, as well as the three
coaches for women’s football and three
coaches for men’s football, who have received
the most votes (without unveiling the winners).
The three nominees for the FIFA Puskás Award
and the FIFA FIFPro World XI shortlist for the
best forwards, goalkeepers, defenders and
midfielders will also be unveiled in early
The following 23 men (in alphabetical order)
are in contention for the FIFA Ballon d’Or
Gareth Bale (Wales), Edinson Cavani
(Uruguay), Radamel Falcao (Colombia),
Eden Hazard (Belgium), Zlatan Ibrahimović
(Sweden), Andrés Iniesta (Spain), Philipp
Lahm (Germany), Robert Lewandowski
(Poland), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas
Müller (Germany), Manuel Neuer
(Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut Özil
(Germany), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Franck
Ribéry (France), Arjen Robben
(Netherlands), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal),
Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Luis
Suárez (Uruguay), Thiago Silva (Brazil), Yaya
Touré (Côte d’Ivoire), Robin Van Persie
(Netherlands), Xavi (Spain) .
The following ten coaches (in alphabetical
order, first nationality and then team) are in
contention for the FIFA World Coach of the
Year for Men’s Football 2013:
Carlo Ancelotti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain FC/
Real Madrid CF), Rafael Benítez (Spain/Chelsea
FC/SSC Napoli), Antonio Conte (Italy/Juventus),
Vicente Del Bosque (Spain/Spain national team)
, Sir Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester
United FC former coach), Jupp Heynckes
(Germany/FC Bayern München former coach),
Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund),
José Mourinho (Portugal/Real Madrid CF/
Chelsea FC), Luiz Felipe Scolari (Brazil/Brazil
national team), Arsène Wenger (France/Arsenal
source: http://www.fifa.com

No comments: